Words are all I have

I have gone wordless on most days this year, atleast during the later part. I did not like it, but it happened. And now, I have so many things to say, so many people to thank, so many moments to recollect and rejoice, so many relationships to cherish, so much love that I ought go be grateful for, acts and memories which have touched me, moved me to tears and made me fall in life all over again and all I have is these words in return.

When the robbery happened at home early this year, I was really depressed; more because of memories associated with the things I lost. But, I slowly realized that 2010 has showered upon us more than probably any year would.

Youth for Seva started in Hyderabad in February this year and when we joined the group, I hardly knew it would be one of the best things that has happened to me in my life. Let alone giving me an opportunity to do my bit for the society, it has given me friends whomI will treasure forever. Friends who are just a call away, friends with whom, we have realized serving the society is not charity, it’s our responsibility and it is sooo much fun to have them in our lives. I have had some of my HAPPIEST moments in my life with them.  Ranging from celebrating birthdays to dancing to the dandia beats all night long to the Vana Yatras to spending all our time planning and bringing it into action , it’s been such a satisfying experience. And the fact that both Su and me are on the same bandwidth on this one too – such a pleasure it is!

And then the kids. When I started teaching in Govt. Schools on weekends this year, little did I know it will become so close to my heart that I almost feel like a Mother to all these kids and it’s such a blessed feeling.  One day I miss school and they question me with all authority why I did so, so much so that Su and me plan our trips revolving around their holidays and weekends are now so not meant for vacations.  When we were brainstorming on how to inculcate the habit of waste management in children and I thought the best way would be to teach them crafts with waste materials,  little did I know that I would get to see such artists in the making.  Not only that, so many of them even made a special card for me and when I asked one of the girls if she had shown it to her Mother as she would have been very happy, she said ‘Akka, you are the one who teaches me so many things; you should be the one to see it first’.  Truly a blessing that I got an opportunity to teach them, actually learn from them. Oh, we are celebrating YFS’s first annual day on 9th of  Jan and getting our kids to perform music, dance and what not has been so wonderful!  Please send across you good wishes for us to do well 🙂

Haan! How can I talk on my blog without talking abt my blog friends? This year I though would pass by without me being able to meet even one of u guys., making me sad esp. with the number of people I met last year 😐 I did call people, fixed meetings, made gr8 plans but none of them worked. Esp. with so many of them on my list in Bengaluru and me not making a trip home.   But it happened. I met Lostworld sometime during my short trip to Bengaluru and spent some great time with her and ShruthiPixie made a trip to Hyderabad specially to meet me 🙂 🙂  Did meet Aryan and his family quite a few times, but I still feel bad I have not been able to go see the second entry Arjun 😦

Oh and thanks to Sari for reminding me that we indeed met in 2010 and not 2009!  Kanagu came down all the way from Chennai to meet me [ahem atleast I would like to think so ;)] and we both met Sari on the very first day of 2010 🙂

And do u guys know whom I met yesterday? Yessss, I met  Crafty in the most unexpected, filmy style, last-minute planned, work-based, short and totally-packed, the-place-of -my-conference hopelessly away from the city trip I made to Mumbai, after my last visit ages ago! Thankfully, Crafty’s office was on my way back to the airport and she sweetly made time for me too and got me some very special gifts too 🙂 So, we sat in the airport and ate and chatted and fooled people [Pixie did not recognize my voice when I spoke from Crafty’s phone even when I spoke in Kannada :(] and exchanged real hugs for once 8)  She is my Santa for this year with all those lovely gifts and so is Pal. Did I tell u Pal threw the most unexpected surprise on me when she sent gifts for me with her sister whom she met in Chennai during her short trip, and who stays in Hyderabad 🙂  Don’t I have the sweetest friends in the world.  I so wanted to meet all of u @ Mumbai, so sorry I just could not. Next time I will make a trip only to meet u guys 🙂  I had the one of the best birthdays this year thanks to all of u and doing the NaBloPoMo was so much fun too 🙂

And my parents – Sigh! Can we ever ever ever do anything for them?  They are here right now – in Hyderabad.  While I thought I would let Mom rest for these few days and let her savour my cooking too, she has other plans. She wants me to rest and do the same.  All she needs is her daughter to catch up with those last few bits of sleep she misses, even though it means she that  has to fore-go the same in Blr when her office beckons her much earlier than mine does and that I get a change from eating my own experiments. And Dad, he was awake till 00:15 yesterday – that’s when I reached home from the airport and after that, reheated my food, served the same and sat with me till I finished my dinner and went to sleep.  And to think of how I sometimes shout at them and fight with the m 😛  And what can I do for that friend who dropped me all the way home from that far-away airport, though his place is in the other corner of the world!

And so, I am ending this year on a happy note, and I can vouch for it that relationships, love , affection and little joys matter more than A.N.Y materialistic possession. I just hope this truth stays etched in memory forever so that I don’t brood over small losses.

Wishing u all the best of the very few hours remaining in 2010 too and let’s all embrace 2011 with an open heart and an everlasting smile on our lips 🙂 Cheers people 😀

Sending this to the wonderful ‘Best of 2010‘ event hosted by Srivalli.

80 Comments

    1. I knew the voice was so familiar!! But, I never guessed it would be you!!!
      Bah!! You didn’t tell me you are going to Mumbai!! All your fault that I didn’t recognise your voice!! 😛 😛
      :mrgreen: 😈

      Like

  1. ohhhh such a lovely warm post! 🙂
    i missed meeting u in bangalore. totally my bad luck! next time for sure…
    happy new year dear. hope the new year brings u loads of joy n we get to meet soon.

    Like

  2. Sweet post, Swaram. Can relate to your post. initially, 2010 and I didn’t get along well either. Now, I am really beginning to miss the year…

    Glad that life is getting much interesting with YFS and the kids…I wish you knew how much I smile whenever I read these posts…

    Happy new Year Swaram.

    PS: Remembered you on 24th & 25th 😉

    Like

    1. Ofocurse I know dear:) Why on earth wud I ping u incessantly to read those posts then 😉 He he, ofcourse it is for comments too, but still 😉 😉

      Thank u so much and I remembered u on all those ‘this day last yr’ days too 😀 😀
      The late night talks, leg pulling, taking pics everything 🙂

      Like

  3. such a lovely update I always feel very proud of u on the youth of seva way to go u young couple… awesome

    and that feeling of those kids I so understand that I used to teach in a govt school in ulsoor area for 2 years on saturday it was one of the best things that happened to me during that I guess

    so u have had a rocking 2010 wishing u a even better 2011

    Like

    1. U r too sweeeeet to say that Monu. Nothing gr8 actually 🙂 Just gives me that feeling of contentment 🙂 🙂

      Oh that’s sooo nice Monu. I never knew abt it 🙂 Def. one of the best things 😀

      Thank u soooo much 🙂 Hugs!

      Like

  4. What a sweet post Swaram …. I really envy u …. all the gifts and all 🙂
    And to be able to do your bit for the society… thats where you make the difference… keep going girl …. 🙂 🙂

    Like

  5. 🙂 That sounds like a wonderful 2010! Here’s wishing 2011 is even better 😀
    Have a great new year, and yeah, once again, let’s meet up! 😛

    Like

  6. cheerrsss swaru… such a lovely n positive post… i will read this again n again to get that happy feel… wishing you a gr8 year ahead… love you and the way you look at life…

    Like

  7. Ups and downs are part of life…..

    It is almost one year we met,if i am not wrong we met on 3rd or 4 th jan in hyd.I am here since last 7 months and we didnt met again 😦 We will catch up soon in 2011 pakka….

    Happy new year 🙂

    Like

  8. oyee bataya nahin chori ka .. thane main report karni ti i wud have come .. do dande lagane the kissi ke aur all caught 🙂

    glad the year went good for you and may the next year be much much better then this also have a wonderful new year and wishing you a prosperous 2011

    Proud to know you and the Youth for Seva…
    and gifts you got gifts and i saw you gave tooo.. mera kahan hai 😦 i ma sad now he he heeheh 🙂

    excellent post Swaram god bless and once again

    happy new year to you and everyone around you

    Bikram’s

    Like

    1. LOL Abhi bhi time hai 😉 U cn do that Bik. Have not yet got back anything 🙂 🙂

      Thank u so much so muhc so much 😀

      Come over to Hyd and u can hv ur gift with some yummy Biryani 😛 😛

      Like

      1. Achaaa wowow.. food ke liye kuch bhi karega … calling the travle agent booking tickets on way.. hyderabad here i comeeeeeee yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy 🙂

        Like

  9. such a heart warming post swaram..I was not aware that you are involved in so many activiites..What you do as part of youth for seva..
    Teaching kids is the best thing you can do for society…I m so proud of you 🙂 and glad to meet you in blogworld…
    Wishing you more funfilled, exciting, full of blessings,vacations, rocking 2011..

    Like

  10. That’s such a lovely post! So much love and happiness! Loved it! 🙂
    I have to go back and re-read (and read) some of your posts. I began reading your blog sometime in the middle of 2010 I guess, and didn’t know there had been a theft at your place. That’s sad. 😦
    I’m really so happy to read about the social service that you do. Really nice. 🙂

    Like

  11. Loved reading every bit of the post. Proud of you for the social work you are doing. Keep this going. Nice to know you were able to meet your friends and have some great fun with them.

    Wishing you a great fabulous new year.

    Like

  12. That’s a wonderful year gone by Swaroo sis!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    Btw, how proud am I to know of your kind heart and now even read of the experiences teaching the kids! It’s really selfless of you and Su to find happiness spending weekends teaching kids, when vacationing wud be a fun option too 🙂

    Arre that is too much 😛 Utna bhi nahin kar rahe hain hum dono 🙂

    God bless the lil girl who wants you to see her creations first! I’d love to see some snaps of these crafts, Swaroo. And let me know if you want ideas on crafts… I’ve got books, and did a few experiments of my own in my childhood! 😀

    PLssssss do that sis! I will be ever grateful to u 🙂 And ya, I sooo want to share the pics too. Just have to find some time and get out of the couch to get them 😛 😛

    AM glad am in the list of bloggers u met in 2010… and shudn’t I be thankful too, that you made it possible to meet up, in spite of your hectic schedule!!! Yes, hugs for real do feel out of this world! 😀 😀 😀

    Am so happy we met! Only wish we hd some more time 🙂

    Sigh, parents! God bless them! ROFL @ welcome change from ur own experiments 😛
    I remember one of your early posts when i had just started following your blog was about some kitchen incident…with the pressure cooker perhaps? and how every thing revolved about putting in on the blog! 😆
    Am sure cooking has come a long way from there?

    He he Su says I am a very gud cook 😉 Nt sure if he is playing safe though 😛 😛

    Wish you a Happy New Year Swaroo! And next time you visit, the order of events will be –
    bare-footed stroll at Juhu, followed by gola & falooda… cut to Bandra for junk jewellery & footwear shopping, ending with roadside food!

    yayyy am sooo waiting for the next conference err trip 😛 😛

    What? Coffee shop? Sure… but they’ll throw us out coz of the noise we’ll make :mrgreen:
    Ha ha ha ha! Road food is always the best 😀

    (((((((((((((((((((((((((Hugs))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    Loads of hugs to u too sis and wishing u the very best and loadssss of PJs;) in 2011 🙂

    Like

  13. Best of 2010 indeed.
    So u met crafty too eh? Nice 😀

    And I’ve already told you a 1000 times….your parents are darlings 🙂

    Wish you a lovely 2010 sweetheart!

    Like

  14. Nice post Swaram, looking at all the happenings of the last year.. this year I guess I did not miss a single post of yours. glad to have met you on blogosphere 🙂 Participating in Youth for seva is definitely one of the best things you have done this year.. did not know you were teaching on weekends too.. 🙂 Hope you have a even-more fun filled rocking year 2011 🙂

    Like

  15. Lovely post! You’ve been lucky to get the opportunity to do things that are close to your heart and that you try to put in so much of yourselves there shows too 🙂
    The last but one para sums it all up!! Way to go !!!
    And its such a coincidence ..i had been thinking of the same title for my post 🙂 which didnt happen anyway… was offline the whole of last week.

    Like

  16. Beautiful post Swaram. It’s so difficult to capture the essence of one whole year in so few words. May the new year turn out just as beautiful for you

    Like

  17. Beautiful post Swaram! Wish you a wonderful year ahead 🙂 And u met Crafty! I’m sure you had the time of your life in the few hours you got to spend wioth her!

    Like

  18. Now I know how your house got robbed ! They are your regular readers and they know when exactly you are out of your home !

    and you are one of those lucky ones to have met Crafty ! But did you scare her as well, she has been blabbering a lot these days ! 😀 😀

    Like

Hum along :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.