2011 South Asian Challenge

Books and challenges are two things I really love 😉  And so, when I got to know there is a reading challenge hosted at S. Krishna’s Books and that most friends are taking part in it,  I decided to take the plunge too.  I just journeyed through my book list of 2010 and I see that I have anyway read 10+  books from authors of  Asian origin.  So, taking it up as a challenge would mean more fun.

All you need to do as part of this challenge is read books about South Asia / by South Asian authors  in  2011.  I see it as  a great opportunity to learn more about enchanting Southern Asia and the amazing authors that it has produced too  🙂

For more clarity on what the challenge is about and for answers to all your questions, click here.

Do sign up for the challenge here. Hoping to see you all there 🙂 More the merrier 😀

ETA: Am planning to read 10 books. Wish me luck 🙂

Books read:

  • A Princess RemembersThe Memoirs of the Maharani of Jaipur, Gayatri Devi
  • Dabawalas by Shrinivas Pandit [A very inspiring story of the simplistic and contented lives of the Mumbai Dabawalas]
  • Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson

53 Comments

  1. Hi Swaram ! Any ways you have a nice list of books . You follow this challenge ;Ok !! And I will follow you like I am doing now !! I go to library with a list I have jotted down from your blog . Don’t know if the people over there are laughing behind my back !! Anyway I don’t care as long as I get the books 😛

    Like

  2. All the best for the Challenge! 🙂
    Haven’t read much Indian fiction and looking forward to do so in the new year. Would love to see your list for the Challenge.

    Like

  3. My first challenge (South Asia Challenge 2011) and I am very keen to introduce some Sri Lankan authors and also go beyond the popular south asian authors as well.

    Like

Hum along :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.