Little things …. big memories

I was browsing through a friend’s FB album today. There was a pic of her elder one’s reactions on seeing the younger sibling for the first time. Somehow, it reminded me of the first time that I was taken to see my younger sister at the hospital – in a blue frock, peeping through the door because I was jealous to see the tiny being occupying *my* place next to *my* Amma, and also because the drips and other things scared me 😛 We are just 3ish years apart, so am not sure if I really remember the first meet so vividly !?! It may just be  from the n recitals I have heard about it from the parents, the grandparents and the doting aunts. But it brought a huge grin on me.

Just like another little thing today did! Aunty used a word which I have not heard for years now. A simple ‘Ko’ which means ‘Take’, mostly ‘Thogo’ in the circles I move in. It reminded me of the paternal grandmother. She used to always use that word for ‘take’ and almost every time I used to tell her not to use the word in front of my friends because it sounded *village-like* 😛 (One of those periods where we all liked to show off being sophisticated) And today, THAT very word reminded me of her, in a sweet way of-course and I smiled a silly smile, much to Aunty’s amusement 😉

It’s funny what such little things can do at times; just felt like jotting them down 😀

36 Comments

  1. awww. i don’t remember much of how i reacted when my sisters were born, or when i first saw them (at least not for the first one), but it’s nice to hear those stories from the parents, yes 🙂

    and it truly is joyous when we go back in time when a little thing here and there reminds us of something from our pasts. 🙂

    sweet post, swar. put a smile on my face 🙂

    Like

  2. eshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh missed it .. but still I have a podium finish , I am third 🙂 bronze is also good

    Like

    1. I have no recollection of watching my sis, I dont think I even went , my mum was in her parents house and me and dad were in city 🙂

      and grandparents you know its weird for some reason I wanted to showoff my villagy roots more , as most of the friends were from cities and all, So I use to make sure when my NANA ji came he came to my college in his traditional clothes 🙂 and i would learn how to wear the Dhoti and how to tie that DESI turban .. I am weird I told you a lot many times he he he he

      Like

      1. I was with my Mother in Mysore when she gave birth to sister and since I am the first grandchild, every single milestone in my life was remembered and cherished more than required may be lol 😉 I have heard the aunts and my Mama talk about this first visit so many times that it now almost seems like I remember it myself 🙂

        Like

  3. The little memories are what bring the biggest smiles, no? Which reminds me I should start spinning stories to Buzz on what her reaction what on seing Bugz for the first time 🙂

    Like

  4. Surprisingly my bro remembers the day I was born..he was like 3.7 years or something…he still remembers me totally red like a monkey wrapped in one of Appa’s vestis…(I am sure he is making up the red like a monkey part gah!)

    Loved the post

    Like

  5. True true! Just a couple of days back there was an aroma coming out of my kitchen which suddenly reminded me of my Naani ji…you don’t know how small small thigns can trigger big big memories 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh Smita! There is a certain smell I associate with my Nani – emanating from the kitchen when she cooked just plain rice and nothing else. I hardly get to smell it these days but I do, it takes me into another world altogether 🙂

      Like

  6. Your post remind me of memory of my brother visiting me when I was born.( Ofcourse I dont remember but heart it zillion time frm parents and aunts and uncles 🙂 ) My bro just 1yr 10 month old put a tight slap on my face and asked why she is lying next to my mom 🙂

    Like

  7. I can totally relate to this. Small things can suddenly trigger big old memories buried deep in the mind somewhere and bring up a big big smile on our faces 🙂 🙂

    Like

  8. Memories always bring a smile on your face no matter how many times you have walked down that memory lane.

    I remember going to the hospital to see my sister too. It was a mixed feeling then. I was partly happy because I had a sibling partly angry because I felt ignored 🙂

    Like

  9. Good to see you blogging 🙂 Though I havent commented on the rest of the posts.. Never had a bro or sis or granny, so couldnt relate to this post, but still memories are always sweet na 😀

    Like

  10. Very sweet post Swaram!!!

    I don’t remember seeing my brother in the hospital but sure remember a few incidents when he was small. Those memories really have an amazing power and almost always bring a smile on my face 🙂

    Like

  11. True Swaru.. lil things bring back a great many memories. reading this one I was trying to recollect Ammu’s expression when she first saw Adi 🙂

    Like

Hum along :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.