Thermocol Plate Ganesha

ETA: Comments off for this post 😀

This is my entry for Artsy-Craftsy Challenge May 2010 @ Mindful-Meanderings. Thanks Shruti for hosting such a wonderful event and giving us a chance to get crafty 🙂

The Ganesha @ the centre is made on a thermocol plate and its very simple. I had made this for the Ganesha Puja last year.

Things required:

Thermocol plate [the normal ones we use for parties etc..]

Acrylic colours

Glitter glue [I used golden colour on the maroon Ganesha cut-out]

A few pearls with ball pins [the ones we use for french braid etc.. which I bought from a fancy store]

The Ganesha cut-out is from the cover of a wedding invitation. I usually save such designs and also the colourful sweet dabba covers which can be used as rangolis to adorn the floor during festival days 🙂

The procedure is probably self-explanatory, but let me outline the way I went about:

  • I first stuck the Ganesha cut-out on the plate as I wanted the parts between the cut-out to be white and only the surrounding areas to be coloured.
  • Then I painted the outer areas yellow and let the plate dry. Followed it up with some alternating designs on the plate using red and green. Then I used the pearls with ball-pins in the centre of these designs. [Small mirrors/sequins would have been great too .. I could not get any]
  • I used glitter glue to highlight the boundaries of the cut-out and also to make some designs on the trunk, the ears and the crown.

Thermocol Plate Ganesha is ready 🙂

P.S: This is the pic I had posted as a part of my Ganesh Puja post. Sorry, I cannot post a better one .. no broadband @ home yet /drives blocked @ work 😦

108 Comments

  1. WOW!!
    That was beautiful!!
    You guys are so creative! I’m seriously envious 😦
    First it was Momo’s Ma, and now you!!

    All the best for the contest though 🙂
    Good luck!

    Like

  2. Nice one Swaram. Simple and beautiful!
    I too save up designs from wedding cards, etc 🙂

    Also, Gowri Ganesha decoration was lovely… all festive. Loved the Gowri and the umbrella that you made 🙂

    Like

    1. Ya, wedding cards do come in handy no 🙂 Ppl wud hv spent so much on them .. so nice to reuse 😉 😉

      Thanks so much Priya 🙂

      Like

  3. Very nice and pretty. I had once made a mud Ganesha for the festival.. Good Luck for the contest. I have a feeling you’ll win something !! 😉

    Like

  4. Wonderful !!

    You know my friend used to use thermocol to make hearts, paint it red, and stick it on silver coloured broomsticks …. they were amazing !

    Like

    1. I made them long bk when I ws @ Mom’s place .. but a lot of us put in our efforts .. it ws nt my individual creation 😛 😛

      Like

  5. beautiful! It all sounds so easy when you write, but I know from experience, that working with thermocol is a very tedious process :):) This is just excellent!

    Like

  6. nice. ili gaLu sakkat cute aagive heheh 🙂
    and craft was the most dreaded class when i was in school. i sucked at it. I still do 😛
    all the best for the contest 😀

    Like

  7. ganeshan jothey yenaadaruu thindinnu photo haakidhdharae channagirthidhdhu. 🙂

    You seem to be on a roll. Tons of reviews, crafts et al. Mmm…

    Like

  8. Wow, really nice, Swar! And you’ve explained it so well too. So easy to understand. I’ll surely try this at home..Namnam is majorly into craft so I’m sure she will love it 🙂

    Good luck for the contest Swarukutty 🙂

    Like

  9. Swaroo!! where have u been hidin this craft talent! that looks so so neat!!
    😀 And well explained too!!

    it’s been ages i did some craft with thermacol! remember school projects with thermacol and cutter and a million pins?? 😀 😀 😀

    Hugs!! And all the best for the contest!

    Like

    1. Hey Crafty, hw nice to see u here .. hw hv u been?

      LOL .. ahem talent 😛 😛 Coming from u, its a gr8 compliment sis 🙂

      All those school projects were so much fun no … loads of hugs to u too 🙂

      Like

Hum along :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.