Our dinner yesterday was ‘Nucchinunde(steamed lentil dumplings you may say). It takes quite some effort to make this dish, and it’s accompaniment – the Majjige HuLi (butter milk sambar, literallyπŸ˜‰ ), especially after getting back from work. What makes me venture into this is basically my love for cooking (it’s therapeutic) and the joy that I see on Su’s face whenever he sees them on the table. Yesterday, Amma during her routine of asking me what we were having for dinner, expressed how she was feeling like eating Nucchinunde too. I made up by mind then and there that I would be making some more and carrying them for her today. Today, after a very very long time, seemed to be a day when I did not have any designated work, and the adhoc tasks wouldn’t be visiting too. I was wrong; a meeting came up, and the timings got changed so many times, that taking them for Amma looked like a difficult proposition. But I went ahead and gave them to her, on my way to the meeting. It’s mostly Amma and Daddy cooking delicacies we like and coming over to delight us almost every alternate day. This was my chance, and I did not want to miss it. Amma was so happy, just like Su was the previous day. And that gleam of happiness is what makes us do these again and again.

This post is not about what I did (it’s nothing actually), but more about that unconditional love which makes us go to any extent to keep our parents, spouse, children (and to an extent siblings too!) happy. There is no expectation about the returns at all, which makes it so easy for us to dote on them. This feeling of ‘unconditional love’ is my yardstick for measuring my personal growth in life. Of late, I have realized that it’s easier to excercise the same with outsiders (beneficiaries for me, usually), because we end up serving them without expecting anything in return. It however changes with the family and friends outside that inner circle, may be because we still are expecting something internally. The instant action might still be to see the happiness on their faces, but is sometimes followed by ‘Oh I did so much for him/her; what did they do to me?’Β 

I do believe that everybody has this yardstick against which they measure their life’s journey towards what you could probably call the pinnacle of human glory. Mine is ‘Unconditional Love‘ and I so hope to be able to dissipate the same without any barriers. This is what I tell myself when the darker side of me takes over: ‘Unconditional love, Swaram, unconditional love’, and it actually makes me feel better almost immediately. Because, afterall, we are being selfish in being selfless too. It makes us happy, and keeps us at peace.

I know that’s too much of philosophy for a weekend, but this has made me feel so relaxed in many situations which would probably have seen my other face.πŸ˜‰ Tell me what your yardstick is, if you have really come down till here.πŸ˜‰

On that note, happy weekend everyone.πŸ™‚