I had a huge to-do list to be honoured before we left Hyderabad for good. It ranged from shopping lists to must-visit homes, to parties we had to throw, places we had to visit, and so on (excluding the list at work that is :P). Time was running out (winding up is not easy at all, sigh!), but the ONE thing I was not ready to miss at any cost was to pay a visit to Mahbub College, which Swami Vivekananda had set his foot on, back in 1893 – the only place where he had delivered a public lecture and addressed a large gathering, before he sojourned to the West. Interestingly, 7 years in Hyderabad and knowing about the place all along had still kept us away from visiting the same before. Life and it’s ways! Makes you believe there is indeed a (right) time for everything.

When I landed in the college one fine morning just a few days prior to our departure, the staff were kind of amused to know that I was there only to catch a glimpse of the place and soak it all, and was asking for the door of the lecture hall to be opened, but honour me they did.

I bowed by head and walked into the sanctified space, to be embraced by those wonderful memories of what I had read and heard about the place.

20140609_113608 20140609_113620 20140609_113631

Just imagining that Swamiji was right here, talking to people about his journey ahead, gives me goosebumps.

20140609_113721
The hall where he lectured!

When I came out of the hall, the person who had unlocked the door for me asked me if I was satisfied. Yes, for having got to visit the place atleast once before we left, but ‘No‘ certainly for I would have loved to do so again and again. Someday, when it is the *right time* yet again 🙂

If you are in Hyderabad, or visit the place anytime, do add this to your ‘must-visit’ list. A thundering monk he was, and any place he had set foot on cannot not be energized by his infinite energy. The campus now also houses Swami Vivekananda Institute of Technology, not only named after him, but also with the institutional philosophy inspired by his words, “We want that education, by which character is formed, strength of mind is increased, and the intellect is expanded and by which one can stand on one’s own feet.”

To visit: Mahabub College, S.D.Road, Secunderabad, Telangana 500003

