It’s been just about 3ish months since we returned from Leh! And I never got around to doing the travelogue ๐Ÿ˜ So what got me here today? After reading Smithu’s post about the streets of Athens, I could not help but dig into my archive and post these pics here.

The day we landed in Leh, we were advised to resort to only roaming [walking actually, they had asked us not to run or monkey aorund, and exert ourselves too :(] around the main market area, thanks to the need for acclimatization.ย  But if the markets are this beautiful, you can never complain! I wish I wish I could have bought all those things home, but it was hardly the first day of our vacation and I could not afford to increase the luggage! Err it would have cost a fortune too for that matter ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks a ton to that person who invented this thing called camera, I could freeze them all in one corner of my harddisk! Am surely going back to Leh sometime, just for shopping and relaxing in the lap of those mighty Himalayas ๐Ÿ™‚ For now, drooling over these pictures is all I can do ๐Ÿ™„

Look at them veggies! I had this instant urge to cook something delicious … so so fresh!

This lady wanted us to click and then get her photo printed. Here she is, happy and satisfied ๐Ÿ™‚

It was not only about the contents of the shops; I loved the names and the taglines too ๐Ÿ˜€

Another one we spotted was:

Quality never goes out of fashion 8)

And this, the most needed motivation to acclimatize people in Leh; in the dhaba were we had dinner that night!

The case of the missing purse: It was only next morning that a friend realized that she had lost her purse. We could not find it anywhere and started going through the list of shops we had visited mentally to recollect where she would have left the same.ย  We stayed in this guest house, which was more like home, with the lovely owners living downstairs taking care of every little need of ours’ – including making Andhra-style Dal for lunch. They were looking up the directory for the contact numbers of every single shop and calling them all. I still fondly remember how one of the family members said ‘If u have left it in any shop, be rest assured that you will get it back. Ladakhi people are too honest and nice to keep it for themselves’. Loved the conviction with which she said that ๐Ÿ™‚

And that’s exactly what happened. The owner of the shop where she had left the purse, opened his shop an hour before that day just because we had to collect the purse and leave for sight-seeing immediately. That goes in the pages of my travelogue as one of the most memorable and touching experiences ๐Ÿ™‚

He who returned the purse ๐Ÿ™‚

Err now that I have started on the travelogue, do you think I should bore you with some more posts and complete it too !?!

