I love this quote by Keith Bellows of  National Geographic Society:

There are some parts of the world that, once visited, get into your heart and won’t go. For me, India is such a place. When I first visited, I was stunned by the richness of the land, by its lush beauty and exotic architecture, by its ability to overload the senses with the pure, concentrated intensity of its colors, smells, tastes, and sounds… I had been seeing the world in black & white and, when brought face-to-face with India, experienced everything re-rendered in brilliant technicolor.

How true isn’t it 🙂  We have tried to travel and explore different parts of  India and have loved every bit of it 🙂 And so I thought,  I would take up this tag I had seen at Priya’s sometime back,  for today 🙂

The rules are:

1. The list contains all the states of India and their capitals are in brackets.

2. Make bold the states you have visited, and mention your favourite memories of that state.

3. Include only states that you have really experienced, and have felt the culture of the place.

Here we go!

1. Jammu & Kashmir (Srinagar) Edited on 8/8/11 – Dan dana done 😀

How I want to visit this place soon! I know I say it for most other places too, but what is life then without travelling and connecting with diverse cultures, traditions, landscapes and people?

But here’s a pic from Dad and Mom’s trip to the place sometime last year.

Eh, I feel putting up pics is the best way of  making the posts colourful and getting people to like them psst psst 😉

Dal Lake, Srinagar

2. Punjab (Chandigarh)

3. Haryana (Chandigarh)

Booooo 😦 Chandigarh is another place I have always wanted to see.  The fact that the city is so organized appeals so much to me.  I have been to Punjab  though [Eh, we boarded a train from Pathankot to Delhi on our return journey from Himachal; that counts rt 8)]

Again a pic from one of my must-visit-in-my-lifetime destinations from Punjab – Dad-and-Mom’s trip again!  Am I J of them are what 👿

Golden temple, Amritsar

4. Rajasthan (Jaipur)

Sigh! U already know how badly I want to visit this place 😦

5. Himachal Pradesh (Shimla)

Yay! We were there for a good 12 days and lovvvved it too 😀

Bird’s Eye View of Shimla

6. Uttaranchal (Dehradun)

One of my team-mates is from this place. How I wish I had made it to his wedding 😦

7. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow)

Again, I have visited U.P just during transit –  Jhansi on the way to Khajuraho ❗

8. Bihar (Patna)

🙄

9. Jharkhand (Ranchi)

🙄  🙄

10. West Bengal (Kolkata)

Oh yes! We had been there after our wedding. We loved eating Jhal-Muri there 😛  Oh! In addition to other marvels of-course :mrgreen:

Belur Math, Kolkata
Dakshineswar Kali Temple, Kolkata

11. Orissa  (Bhubaneswar)

I think we had the  longest vacation of  our lives just after the wedding. We left the next day itself, went to a few temples in TamilNadu including Tanjavuru, Tiruvannamalai, Kumbakonam etc..  as suggested by the MIL, then to Kolkata, followed by Puri, Konark and Bhubhaneswar and then finally ending at Gangtok!

Phew! Quite a vacation that was and a good trigger for our Happy Feet 🙂

Dhaulagiri Stupa, Bhubaneswar

12. Sikkim (Gangtok)

This was heaven! We loved the place and the people sooooooo much that we actually returned back to Gangtok when we had covered more than half the distance towards Darjeeling 😛

View of K2 from Gangtok

13. Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar)

14. Assam (Dispur)

15. Tripura (Agartala)

16. Nagaland (Kohima)

17. Mizoram (Aizawl)

18. Manipur (Imphal)

19. Meghalaya (Shillong)

Again, I sooo want to see the whole of North-East India! I have read, seen and known it is incredibly beautiful; esp. the hearts of the people!  A friend is getting married in Shillong this year -hope we make it 🙂

20. Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal)

My Uncle was posted in Khajuraho sometime in 2001-2002, and I spent a good 15-20 days seeing around and experiencing the sweet little place 🙂

21. Chattisgarh (Raipur)

😐

22. Gujarat (Gandhinagar)

My grandpa was posted in Ahmedabad for a longgg time and Mom and my aunts have so many sweet memories associated with the place that I wonder how we have not been there till now! We even had a good, long session of  Garba during our house-warming ceremony in Bengaluru.

23. Maharashtra (Mumbai)

My maternal grandpa’s family hails from Mumbai and he was the only one who moved to Mysore, while his 3 other brothers and their families are still there. Mumbai thus, was listed as our hometown for Mom’s and Dad’s LTA claim and we used to go there almost every year! And boy! What a gala time we used to have – Mom’s aunts and uncles, her cousins, our cousins – one huge gang getting out together, playing Antakshari and other games at home till late in the night, competing with each other as to who goes farthest into the sea and so on!  Why did we all ever grow up and become so busy with our own lives 😐 So, after ages, I had been to Mumbai again last December and that was when I met Crafty too 😀

I have no pics of the place with me though – no soft copies at all and all the hard copies are back @ Mom’s place!

24. Goa (Panjim)

ETA on 31/5/2013: Yayyy! We did this. We were there the past Sunday-Monday, albeit only from Sunday night-Monday afternoon to take our return flight after a 10-day vacation in Coastal Karnataka, but we did go around the town and had some sun-sea-sand time at 2 gorgeous beaches too 😀 Here’s a pic to show off!

DSC_4608

25. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad)

Home, away from home 🙂 🙂 All thanks to our wonderful friends actually, who have made our life so much fun here 🙂

Chowmohalla Palace, Hyderabad

26. Tamil Nadu (Chennai)

We have been to Chennai many times. Mom usually has training sessions in centers all over India and what fun it was before to accompany her on them and roam around, while she would be immersed in those boring sessions 😉

But the last time I went to Chennai was with the extended family – Su’s uncle Nagi, who is my closest friend in the family and extremely dear to both of us, books our tickets too whenever he plans a vacation for his family. We had a gala time with them in Chennai and am so looking forward to another trip with them 🙂

All of us tucked into one auto in Chennai 🙂

27. Karnataka (Bengaluru)

Home 🙂

28. Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram)

My mausi H left her job in Mysore to come and stay wih me in Bengaluru when I was born. She is so so attached to me and sis that she used to take us along with her on all the vacations. It was with her family that we made a trip to Kanyakumari, Thiruvananthapuram and Kodaikanal. One awesome trip that was!  We were in school then and that we saw Aravind Swami’s farm somewhere in Kodai was the most important thing we wanted to share with our friends when we got back to school 😛

29. Delhi

Must confess I have never been able to see Delhi properly. We have always been there on transit and have seen very little of it!

Qutub Minar, Delhi

That was some fun tag and am done with yet another post 😀  Have a nice day/ night’s sleep people 🙂 Am off for some reading and then over to zzzZZZ land 🙂

