I was just thinking how many people make our lives easier on a day-to-day basis! The lady who picks up the trash every morning and helps us keep the surroundings clean, the guard who spends sleepless nights letting us sleep peacefully, the driver who has to forego his sleep when we r travelling @ night, so as to get more sight-seeing time and so on. I do make it a point to thank them, but wonder if they really get there due sometime, if not always?

One such profession I think is that of being a nurse. Its much much more than a profession according to me. The love, service, patience, compassion, dedication- there are innumerable qualities that they possess.  We always thank the doctors so much and remember that they pulled us out of danger, that they gave us a second life and so on. Ofcourse, they deserve every bit of it! But what about these selfless individuals?

Isn’t it rightly said that:

Constant attention by a good nurse may be just as important as a major operation by a surgeon. ~Dag Hammarskjold

The way they serve people day and night, caring for each and every aspect ..  I sometimes feel its way beyond what we can even think of or imagine.  Not even once, when I have seen these ppl @ action, have I felt they r doing this for money, they have taken it as a profession alone. Its Service more than Work is what I feel.

When my grandmom was in ICU a few years back, I remember how much care the nurses there would take. Every person there was treated by them like their own family member. ‘Please thinni .. innondu piece ashte [Please have one more piece .. pls] .. thatz how I could hear them speak with people. The room next to my grandmom’s was occupied by a man who had met with an accident. He was hurt on his head and owing to the brain injury, he was not in his senses. He used to scream @ the nurses whenever they used to try to feed him, clean him up or give him medicines. He used to bad mouth them, call them donkey, monkey and what not. And believe me, never once did I see that smile vanish on their face. My respect for them grew leaps and bounds that day!

When you’re a nurse you know that every day you will touch a life or a life will touch yours. ~Author Unknown

One day when one of them tried to feed this man, he literally spat out the food saying Purrr like a child and it was all over her face. I just can’t imagine what  I would have really done. She said Paapa [like showing sympathy for a kid or someone hurt], wiped her face, cleaned him and tried doing it again. I watched her as she went about doing her duty as though nothing had happened there. It touched me so so much. How much more selfless can a human being get? How big their hearts must be to show this love and affection towards so so many people whom they might never ever meet again or may not even remember them.

Nurses are the heartbeat of health care.  ~Author Unknown

I have a lot of respect for these people and am very very grateful to what they are doing.  And today, when I read a post about Neo-natal ICU nurses, I knew I had to do this post and express my heart-felt gratitude to them. May the Lord shower his choicest blessings on them all and if only I could take one bit from their life and imbibe atleast a fraction of the qualities they have, life would most definitely be all the more beautiful!

Hats off to Florence Nightingale, for the wonderful nurse she was and for her priceless service! This is what she has to say .. actually, says it all isn’t it?

Nursing is an art:  and if it is to be made an art, it requires an exclusive devotion as hard a preparation, as any painter’s or sculptor’s work; for what is the having to do with dead canvas or dead marble, compared with having to do with the living body, the temple of God’s spirit?  It is one of the Fine Arts:  I had almost said, the finest of Fine Arts.

