You can choose to read the first part here

As I set out on my morning walk, I was blessed with the darshan of some amazing flowers and fabulous leaves all along!

flowers

Flowers of the tea plant
Flowers of the tea plant
Tea plant fruits
Tea plant fruits

And obviously the breath-takingly beautiful hills and tea plantations!

DSC_5112

DSC_5130

As I strolled along the path like Alice in Wonderland, I just saw that there ws a village @ the foothills and could see that there were some preparations going on for the Independence Day celebrations.

Cn u see those preparations rt there in the middle?
Cn u spot the tricolours there?
A glimpse of Sivanmalai
A glimpse of Sivanmalai

I was maha-thrilled! Imagine u go out on a vacation and the least u expect is to be able to catch something on TV n u get to celebrate I-Day there! I was overjoyed n decided to walk down till the village. Once I reached there, the villagers welcomed me as though I was some celebrity πŸ˜‰ They told me that the chief guest wud be there by 8:15 a.m and asked me to wait for the flag hoisting ceremony. Then we just got talking. All the kids came running to me saying photo, photo and I just loved the warmth and affection they had to offer.Β  They were all working in the surrounding tea plantations and were from Tirunalveli, Tamil Nadu. So, we cud converse in Tamil, I mean they cud speak n I cud manage πŸ˜‰Β  The chief guest, true to hw one is supposed to be arrived late rather very late and all the time the local folks were asking me to wait just for 5 more min, were calling the guest again n again and even sent a person to look for him! God, what hv I done to find so much love all around πŸ™‚

Check ou this bindi!
Check out his bindi!

I was getting late bcoz we had planned to start for the sight-seeing early n I ws already getting late .. n to top it, Su ws in the resort and both our phones were farrrrrrrrr off from the coverage area! They also offered their phones to me to call up my Veetkara [husband ;)] n inform him the same. By that time, the chiefy arrived, hoisted our glorious tiranga, chocolates were distributed. I was so happy to see the spirit of these villagers and loved it when they chanted Bhagat Singh ki Jai, Lal Bahadur Shastri ki Jai n so on!

All in all, it was an awesome experience to celebrate this important day of our lives in the lap of Mother Nature, in the midst of honest, guileless people!

Janda ooncha rahe humhara :)
Janda ooncha rahe humhara πŸ™‚
Hum Saath Saath Hain!
Hum Saath Saath Hain!

I got back hurriedly and then we set out on our sight-seeing for the day.

We first visited a flower garden and u hv to see to believe there are so so so many varieties of beautiful ones!

flow garden

Also got to eat fresh carrots πŸ™‚

Yum yum!
Yum yum!

We then proceeded towards Mattupetty dam where we went on a speed boat ride amidst lush green surroundings n crystal clear water! Thoroughly enjoyable!

From the speed boat
From the speed boat

DSC_5303

Echo Point ws our next destination and natural splendor in abundance greeted us there! We spent some time roaming around with the light showers making it even more romantic .. ahh pure bliss!

echo point

I still wonder if there’s anything called sight-seeing in Munnar … each thing here is a beauty in itself! A pleasant ride next took us to Rajmalai[Eravikulam] national park, which is the king of natural beauty … a treasure house of scenic views :). It houses the Nilgiri Thar [an endangered species of mountain goats] and also is the abode of Neela Kurinji, which flowers only once in 12 yrs (its gonna b in 2018)… we cud see neither ❗ but nevertheless were awestruck by what we saw around and were nt at all disappointed πŸ™‚

DSC_5347

DSC_5370

Some people were cribbing that they cud not see the animal and I was infact feeling sorry that they are not able to enjoy the angelic view around 😦 Also, they were making so much noise that I wonder how do they even expect to see an animal then! People who visit national parks ought to know the animals are more than scared and despise human intervention! Its not for nothing that we waited for 5-6 hrs to see a tiger at Tadoba reserve literally maintaining pin-drop silence all the while and were blessed to have its august company for more than an half an hour! Let me nt digress πŸ™„

The car was allowed only till a certain point from where we had to take the reserved mini-bus and then trek up to the final point! It got so cold on the way backΒ  and all was were waiting for the mini bus to pick us up like we had waited for none before!Β  On return, we hd some hot-n-spicy bhutta … tasted like heaven esp. with that kind of a weather!

DSC_5374

On return, went around for some shopping,Β  bought banana chips , had dinner and returned back home, all the while seeing tea leaves afloat in front of our eyesΒ  πŸ™„

Special banana chips for all of u!Β  Su asked me to share it with all my dear blog friends πŸ˜‰

DSC_5380

And nw, for those who wanted to c the beauty n the beast together i.e Swaram in Munnar 8), here it is πŸ™‚

This marks the end of day 2 in Tea Heaven, Munnar πŸ™‚Β  On day 3, we visited some spectacular private tea estates and a beautiful spice garden before heading towards Kochi to return home. Hope 2 c u all back for Part 3 8)

