Hey ppl! As all of u know, we celebrated Independence day @ Munnar this time πŸ™‚

So, before u ppl throw rotten tomatoes n eggs @ me or sshhh me away, lemme help myself n post the pictures πŸ™„ Hope u all njoy the virtual journey πŸ˜‰

We started on 14th august from Hyderabad and I had fun from the word GO! With some gr8 music playing on Kingfisher Radio in the background, I started having a talk with Megha while the man was busy talking with Bangladeshi n Zimbabwean cricketers [Yes! Even on board the plane :P]. I ws so busy clicking pics of the diff forms of clouds that I just dint realize that we hd already reached Cochin 8)

Baadal pe Paon hain!

DSC_4834

Bird’s Eye View

DSC_4888

DSC_4893

I loved this pic on the tail of one of the planes @ Cochin airport!

DSC_4904

We left for Munnar immediately and the entire route from Cochin to Munnar was a treat to the eyes! The journey to heaven hd begun πŸ™‚Β  I was mighty impressed with the roads – well-laid, very clean – what a joy ride it ws!Β  Greenery all around, awesome weather, the rains playing magic and the no. of waterfalls more than the sum total of all those I have seen in all my life till now made the sojourn Oh so romantic πŸ™‚ Some buildings on the way were really attractive too – with a traditional touch to them!

A waterfall @ a distance

DSC_4984

DSC_4993

DSC_4994

We stopped the car @ many places on the way enjoying in the lap of Mother Nature, playing near the waterfalls and had a gala time. I don’t think there’s any sight-seeing required at all because each step u take offers u something so beautiful that you happen to think this is the best of the lot only to be left dumbstruck a few steps ahead ❗ Wonder if u can really understand Serenity and Tranquility so well anywhere else in the world!

DSC_5594

DSC_4926
A beautiful building on the way!

Carrots, tree tomatoes etc.. sold on the way!

DSC_5595

After having a gr8 time all along, we reached Munnar in the evening right in time to attend a Kathakali program. Starting from the make-up routine of the performers, the different expressions and mudras [actions with the hand], everything was well explained for the layman to understand before the start of the actual performance. It was worth watching and we thoroughly enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Expression for Sad
Expression for Sad
Courage!
Courage!
Angry :grrrrr :evil:
Angry :grrrrr πŸ‘Ώ

DSC_5071

DSC_5066

By the time we reached the estate bungalow where we were supposed to stay, it was already dark. We could make out that the view was spectacular, thanks to the tea estates all around and NO concrete structure visible at all other than the place we stayed!Β  The care-takers [an in-house chef and another person] extended such a warm welcome that we felt so much @ home!

We had a gr8 time playing carrom with the caretakers till abt 1:00 a.m and then finally retired to bed. The excitement to catch a glimpse of the spectacular surroundings did nt leave me to sleep beyond 4:00 a.m :P. But then obviously, it was too too dark n I hd to get back to dreamy state for some more time. Finally, at 6:15 a.m, we were dumbstruck by what we saw around! Paradise on earth – this is where it is!

DSC_5389

DSC_5408

Some beautiful flowers in the garden πŸ™‚

DSC_5096

DSC_5098

And now, the place which was our Home Sweet Home for 3 days!

DSC_5381

After I pinched myself to confirm that I was not dreaming and ws indeed standing right there, I set out on my morning walk and most unexpectedly got a chance to celebrate Independence day with the locals πŸ™‚ And then some gr8 sight-seeing. Coming up in the next post πŸ˜‰

