Some things in life remain etched in our memory so hard that even years later, we have a feeling they happened recently. Whenever I think of my school days, I can’t believe its been 11 yrs before that I passed out of school! I went to the same school from classes 1-10 and had some of the best days of my life there. My teachers loved me ๐Ÿ˜‰ Dance, drama, music, debates, quiz, sports – I had a slice of each one of them! okie okie .. studies too ๐Ÿ˜‰ Jill of all n ……
I was the head girl and the cultural captain, got to lead the March-Past, do the oath-taking on all special days. I really really yearn for those days now!!! Now u know, y I liked my school life na ๐Ÿ˜›

Ws just seeing my wedding snaps sday when the snap with all my school teachers caught my attention! 8 yrs after I left school, all of them attended my marriage n told my husband ‘She is the apple of our eyes; u r lucky to have her! Please look after her very well’. It was so touching and I have been indeed lucky to have such teachers! Well, this post is nt one emotional post abt them, just some incidents I can recollect and how we thoroughly enjoyed school life!

I ws studying in the Lower KG when my dad’s workplace [a Public Sector Undertaking] opened a new Central Syllabus School. Mom took me to the interview. She still has a pic of mine dressed in a cute white dance frock with pigtails! It was there that I met my first friend Ajit! We had reached first n he followed. They called him first for the interview [alphabetical order] and I was really pissed off. All the while, I had been thinking everythingz gonna be on FCFS basis – isn’t it the way we used to be called in @ the doc’s for the vaccines :(, though I wanted to be last in the queue there :P. I started crying! It got the Principal out n he instructed them to take us in together. Even years later, he used to tell me how much he loved me bcoz I knew the value of time even as a child :P. That ws the day my love affair with this school began. To this day, Ajit pulls my leg that I dint let him be first ๐Ÿ˜‰

Whether it was taking part in fancy dress ranging from being a vegetable vendor to Miss India ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ to Gautam Buddha, I luved it all. My favourite role I played in a skit was that of a village belle who saves a Commando from terrorists!!!!! Ahem ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ Virtual life mein hi sahi .. nek kaam kiya hai maine 8) The script ws like I take help from others and dress up the Commando as a grandma and sing n dance for him err her err whatever!

The first love story woven around me was in Class 2. I used the school bus to go to school. There was one fella BP in my class. Once, when I got into the bus, people started shouting ‘Sakkare Sakkare’. [Sakkare stands for sugar in Kannada. I had a classmate Sagar whom me used to call Sugar n say Sakkare]. I turned back to see if Sagar boarded the bus from my stop that day bcoz he used to take the bus many stops behind. Thatz when someone told me BP had told all of them that we both loved each other :roll:. N u know the reason!!!!! He said we both always fight for the first rank; so we loveee each other!!!!!!!!! I gave him such a thrashing that day [Don’t raise ur brows now .. I was a Lady Rambo from rt then ;)] that it was the last time BP ever talked to me in school before the Jyothi Daan function in Class 10 where all of us were supposed to light candles n worship God for our success in the exams. And that too only 3 words were spoken ๐Ÿ˜‰ ‘All the best’ BP, wherever u are, pls know that I have nothing against u n God bless u, I have a husband as sweet as Sakkare nw ๐Ÿ˜› [Hope he reads atleast this one post of mine ๐Ÿ˜‰]

Another episode I remember from those junior classes was when Mom got me a red pencil sharpener [my fav colour]. As luck wud have it, there was one girl Nag Deeps whom we used to call Nagamma, lost her red sharpener around the same time. She started accusing me that I have stolen her sharpener This girl got her Mom to school [wonder how she came though] and started saying that her daughter wil cry if I don’t give it to her, so she wanted me to give it to her and buy one for myself later if I wanted ๐Ÿ™„ This really really happened guyz .. me nt exaggerating one bit! I tried to put forth my logic that just like there are so many Nagammas in the world, there can be many red sharpeners too!!!!! Her Mom got angry n left bcoz most of the class girls were on my side too ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

We used to love the PT[Physical training] period. Got to breathe fresh air, run about under the sun and just the thought of being free!
Now, this PT Teacher used to be angry we used to use the period some time to make cork balls, play hide n seek et…al ๐Ÿ˜›
He used to summon us and ask us to play throw ball, volley ball, kho-kho etc.. We used to call him PTappa [read P-tappa] and used to sing to him
‘Ptappa Ptappa dont worry Ptappa, hum zaroor khelenge Ptappa’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

It once so happened that few of us had forgotten to return or rather never knew we had to return our hockey sticks to the school before the results. So, they put all our names in the ‘Results Withheld’ list. When I went to see the results, I saw one guy Sujit who was so happy spreading around the news and saying ‘Swaram has failed’ :P. Wonder if he had even seen his report card ๐Ÿ˜• I was so angry with him that day that once I got the report card, I ran to him first even before I showed it to my parents ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sujit now is hubby’s colleague n a close friend ๐Ÿ˜‰ We talk abt this even now how n I tease him hw he was so J of me n never bothered to see his result and was running around spreading this news :mrgreen:

We had some teachers though whom we just did not like. They were either too strict or never connected well with the students. They used to teach us really well though! One of them was very keen on giving home work daily n always wanted our parent’s sign on the page. Nw, we used to complete some part of the homework during break and so some classmates of ours would be our parents for the day :P. She was called VGB n the boys nicknamed her ‘Vichitra Gangu Bai’. She used to handle two subjects. One day, we had Science acc. to the timetable. There was one boy Prasu who had forgotten to carry the Science notes that day and instead had got Health Education which was the other subject she was handling. He was dreading that he will have a lot to listen from her! But Magic! Out of the blues, she decide to take H.E classes that day and sent us all out! Can u believe she took class only for this one fella while we were all having a gala time outside the class ๐Ÿ˜‰

My music teacher loved me so much that she even wanted to adopt me. God is so unkind sometimes. The couple were so sweet, were yearning for a kid but did not have one. Anyways, she used to always say I am her daughter itself and love me so much. I used to participate in all music competitions. Once it so happened that I had forgotten abt one such contest and had not prepared for it. Now, this teacher would never let go of me and wanted me to participate @ any cost. It was a Kannada film hits competition and believe me, I did not know one song fully. Finally, I gave up and told her I knew only one song [This ws really funny. It is what a kid sings to his father who lives alag from his Mom why is it that he loves his dad but Mom does not want him and the father explains the reasons in such a silly manner. For those who know Kannada, it is Appa Appa Nange Neenu Bekappa from Manedevaru ;)] She told me to go on and I sang the same song ๐Ÿ˜› I was so embarassed when others were singing songs in praise of Kannada, historical significance of Kannada etc…
However, I did win the 2nd prize ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ This is one episode I can never forget though! Even now when I meet her, she asks me to sing the song ‘Appa Appa’ ๐Ÿ˜›

Oops! This post has gone really long ๐Ÿ˜› Sorry, me feeling bad to delete what my naazuk fingers have already keyed in but will definitely stop @ this ๐Ÿ˜‰

U never know though, I mite come back with Part-2 ๐Ÿ™„
Say a prayer guys โ—

Any school memories u have gotta share ๐Ÿ˜•

