This recipe was given to me by Bhabhi aunty when I had been to Mumbai years back,  when I was in school probably. It is so easy to prepare and so delicious that wherever I went, people used to ask me to prepare the same. Bhabhi aunty is Amma’s sis-in-law and as I grew up seeing them call her Bhabhi, she is Bhabhi aunty for me even now.

Ingredients:

Thendli – 1/2 kg; cut vertically into thin pieces
Mustard – 1/s tsp ;for tempering
Zeera – 1 tbsp
Urad dal – 2 tbsp
Red chilly – 5-6
Onion – 1 large roughly chopped
Oil – 3 tbsp
Salt – to taste

Method:

Take oil in a wok and add the jeera. Once it is done, add the urad dal and once it turns golden brown,add the chillies and saute till they turn bright red. Now grind this mixture with the onion(raw) and keep aside.
Now take some oil and add the mustard seeds. When they splutter, add the thendli and cook them till done. Now add the masala and cook till the raw smell of onion goes. Add salt according to taste.
This goes very well with Phulkas as well as rice. Enjoy!!!!.

P.S: Ivy gourd has been classified as a medicinal herb in traditional Thai and ayurvedic medicine. It contains beta-carotene, a major vitamin A precursor from plant sources. It is also considered a good source of protein and fiber.

