Tags

, , , , ,

When I was making rice for lunch today, there was an unusual smell ;) Ha ha! not something bad, I have to call it an aroma actually. And it took me back to some good old days – this is a smell which I relate with my Nani [my maternal grandmom]. Years ago, in the days without pressure cookers, she used to make rice by cooking it on sim fire in a normal vessel and this aroma used to fill the entire house – so much so that, I began to associate that smell with Ajji mane [grandmom’s home]. My nose is sooo sensitive to that smell that anywhere I can feel it, it reminds me of Ajji mane.  Its amazing what smell, taste, music etc.. can do to our mood @ certain times – make us all nostalgic!

Like a dish called majjige-hulhi [‘curd sambar’ being the literal translation :P] which is usually made using ash-gourd, cucumber, lady’s finger etc.. My Dadi [paternal grandmom] used to make it with brinjal!  Not so common – it used to taste delicious!!! So, whenever I make it now, its always Ajji who occupies my thoughts :)  Like some dishes taste just like what our Moms make and bring us so much joy :)

Music has the same effect too.  I was listening to the song ‘Nani teri morni ko‘ when my Badi Nani [Grandpa’s Bhabhi] passed away and the song brings to my memory all those wonderful moments that we spent with her.  My Nani was famous for singing ‘Yeh Zindagi Usi ki hai‘ be it @ family functions or just like that when we all got together or when we played Antakshari :)  It does bring a smile on my face when I listen to this song.

Isn’t it a beautiful feeling that our dear ones stay with us in so many ways, through so many channels even after they have passed on to another world?  Any such memories that you people can relate to? Please share them here … I would love to read them :)

